Muscle Dysmorphia and Body Dysmorphic Disorder

Traditionally women seem to suffer most from trying to obtain the same bodies as the unrealistic images in the media of perfectly shaped models, even though by now everybody knows all those images are heavily edited. Photoshop is the perfect tool to make the eyes bigger, pupils wider, lips fuller, better bone structure, smaller hips, perkier boobs, whiter teeth and of course no wrinkles and perfect skin. This video by Dove shows the process of  how an ordinary woman is turned into a beauty with the use of make up and heavy photoshop editing.

But it seems more and more men are following suit.

No wonder when most magazines are now giving the male image the same treatment. There are no more ordinary guys in magazines anymore, they are now all super fit.

But bare in mind that even poster boys for the food supplement industry don’t just use the supplements there are advertising. In the documentary “Bigger, Stronger, Faster*” Christian Boeving a well known fitness model admitted using anabolic steroids since he was 16. And in addition his body was most likely touched by a Photoshop expert before the ad went to print.

Having said all of that I have to say that I DON’T want to see ordinary people in a magazine that I pay good money for! I buy a magazine to enter a phantasy, an illusion, a wonderfully created alternate reality. Every time I step out of my door I am SURROUNDED by ordinary people; for free!

And all of that still doesn’t put me off trying to get bigger, bigger and bigger.

If only I had started early enough and used the right ‘supplements’ I would have been able to achieve a body like Santana Anderson which I think is the ultimate macho look. Biggest challenge for me is all the food you need to grow. And it has to be the proper food too.

Leave a Reply

