Flip side, or how it feels being at the other end.

A lot of people told me to forget about starting a long distance relationship, as they told me it simply could not be done. That was over a year ago and my boyfriend and I are managing just fine.

Sure there are things that a long distance relationship preclude that we try to find work-arounds for. We don’t get to see each other every day, not IRL anyway. Skype is a adequate medium for our (near) daily chats and updates about our lives. WhatsApp is a nice way to share things on the go.  But we’re not always home at the same time and we certainly don’t always both have access to internet connectivity.

We do make sure to see each other as often as we can. Unfortunately airplane tickets don’t exactly come for free and as I have a very erratic work schedule it’s almost impossible to make use of cheap book in advance tickets for the simple reason I don’t know my schedule that far in advance. Neither of us has a car and taking the train is often more expensive than flying and it takes up to 11 hours instead of 1 hour and 15 minutes, and 22 hours out of a weekend just for traveling is a LOT.

I have always said that it is much harder on my boyfriend than on me as I get so much distraction due to the fact that my job requires me to travel all over the world. While I’m distracted by all my business trips he is ‘stuck’ in an office and gets to go home at the end of each day, while I’m on the other side of the globe, distracted by all that is new or different.

When I’m away on business I still try to maintain our WhatsApp chat stream but due to the time zones it’s sometimes like sending messages into the past or the future, depending which side of the globe I am at that moment. Not all the hotels I get to stay at offer free Wifi and I refuse to pay the exorbitant fees they like to charge for internet connectivity. But the main point here is that I get to be distracted almost all of the time we are not together.

Today I get to see a mere glimpse what it’s like on the other side. I’m at home and my boyfriend is out on a business trip (added to it the weekend to mix it with some pleasure). So I try to distract myself with the chores around the house, happy to know he is having a nice time with friends. And I realize I have it easy as my next trip is tomorrow.

Three and a half weeks and 8 trips from now we will be together again.

Copyright Grisnoir

 

(Image: one of my next business trip takes me to Bangkok , copyright Grisnoir)

One thought on “Flip side, or how it feels being at the other end.

Leave a Reply

