Is Mr. Karl Lagerfeld in desperate need of cash?

I will not say a single bad word about Mr. Karl Lagerfeld.

Firstly we haven’t been introduced (I don’t own a fax machine) so everything would be hearsay and secondly I think he’s brilliant, very strange (people who know me know this is a compliment) and very quotable.

The idea of him running out of cash has been forming over the past few weeks, during which I have been bombarded by the countless billboard ads in Germany for a particular car. And then there are the hideous bottle’s he’s done for that fizzy drink (the diet version, of course).

Now don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with doing something on the side, but it’s been a bit of an overkill if you ask me. The H&M collection was done in 2005, though still fresh in the memory, but it’s fashion so I don’t count that one.

Every time when I’m in Germany, where my boyfriend lives, I get bombarded by the iconic image of Mr. Lagerfeld in the company of a car. (“I am like a caricature of myself, and I like that. It is like a mask. And for me the Carnival of Venice lasts all year long” he said once about his image in The Observer Magazine)

Then the fizzy drink bottles. Why would you want to restyle the bottle that is iconic all by itself. A matter of taste, for sure, but I don’t think Mr. Lagerfeld has done any of us a favour. Anybody but himself and probably the fizzy drinks manufacturer. Perhaps they want to copy the success of the limited edition bottles of that famous Swedish Vodka.

So I jokingly said to my boyfriend that his house in Monte-Carlo (Villa La Vigie) was probably on the market now too. Apperently he already sold it in 1997. Also stopped leasing an 18.000 square feet house in Paris and no longer has his Villa Jako in Biarritz.

All of that doesn’t indicate that there are money problems though, as he seems to have bought a property in Vermont, has a loft at Gramercy Park in NYC and rents two properties in Ramatuelle (one for himself and one for guest).

But my original idea is still haunting me.

One day I took a closer look at the promotional images for the car advertisements and it turns out that Mr. Lagerfeld isn’t just appearing in the photos but they are also DONE by Mr. Lagerfeld. And why not indeed.

I say clever, Mr. Lagerfeld. Why have them pay you once if you can make them pay you twice!?

On a last note, if you want to get to know Mr. Lagerfeld a bit better, go see ‘Signé Chanel’.

Oh, and get a fax machine. “People I’m really friendly with have faxes. Anna Wintour has one.”

Below an image of a 2008 French public awareness campaign which I find hysterical.

C’est jaune, c’est moche, ça ne va avec rien, mais ça peut vous sauver la vie.

It’s yellow, it’s ugly as hell, it does not go with anything, but it can save your life.

(image source)

 

Update, more Lagerfeld, more quotes!

Leave a Reply

