Organic, but not at all cost.

Food Inc.

From the moment I saw the much acclaimed documentary ‘Food Inc.‘ I decided that perhaps I could be a little bit more selective in the type of food I buy.

So ever since I’ve made sure that at least one of the ingredients of the night’s supper has a ‘Biological’ label on it or an other officially recognised label indicating that during the entire proces the welfare of the animal or the earth in general has been carefully taken into account.

I even did some research into which labels actually mean something, and what exactly they mean.

I’m in the fortunate position that I don’t have any finacial worries so paying a bit more for more environmental sound production methods doesn’t break the bank. So when I buy biological salmon filets they are about 2€ more per kilo than the regular salmon. I found that with most variaties of meat the price per kilo is around 2€ more. For someone in my current situation that is a small price to pay to let the supermarket know that there is demand for products like this. The supermarket in it’s quest to make more money can decide to contract more producers that produce products with the legally recognised and controlled label ‘biological’.

This is something Wallmart has done. Now this retailer, the world’s largest, is not know for it’s ethics. But when teir data showed that people are actually buying more biological/organic products they calculated that there is a lot ot money to be made and started introducing more and more of such products.

One of the mantras of the documentary is that you vote for organic or not organic each time one of your purchases gets scanned at the checkout.

So yesterday I found myself holding a organic piece of chicken filet and couldn’t believe it was ca 7€! So I checked the price per kilo and compared it to the price per kilo of the ordinary chicken filet. It turned out that the chicken with the label ‘Biologic’ was three (!) times more expensive.

That’s a little bit too much. Even for someone who can basically afford it and who tries to make a difference.

Let’s hope enough people start reading the labels and learn about the proper logos to look for and start voting at the cash registers in the supermarket!

Leave a Reply

